“FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION” Challenge! REVIVAL!

Photo Credits: Tien | ArtScience Museum (Singapore, 2019)

Reviving Break

“You do know what he means, right? How can you remain so calm?” he raged.

We were standing at the pond outside the Museum, after a long shift. His anger matched the relentless heat of the sun. Meanwhile, tourists milled around, as they always did, considering if the exhibitions worth their money. The Museum had placed a price to art and its customers were judging if the price was right.

Oh, the irony.

“Well, say something!”

I blinked. I had long tuned out his rant and was spacing out during our smoking break.

“What’s there to say?” I answered with a question.

“Oh come on, that was completely unfair and dirty handed!” he declared fervently.

“Do you know that lotus flowers are considered pure because they are born from the muddy waters? Despite the surrounding ugliness, a lotus flower still blooms to its most beautiful, opening its petals one by one in the day. After three days, the lotus flower dies. Then, another lotus flower will bloom and this lasts throughout the summer, when the sun is harsh,” I replied. “So what if it is unfair? It will be over eventually. What he says will not dirty me unless I sink to his level.”

“How can you be so Zen?” he shook his head. “Aren’t you at least angry?”

“Oh, I was. But that’s what the break is for. To clear my head for a long journey,” I smiled. “Thanks for complaining on my behalf though, fellow lotus. Or would you prefer I call you ‘Po’ from ‘Kung Fu Panda’? Too Teletubbies?”

He could not help himself but laughed as we walked back into the Museum.

(276 words)


I’m always fascinated about lotus flowers ever since I learnt the story of wisdom in Buddhism. And the saying, “A break is necessary for a long journey” is from a Mandarin adage, which I shamelessly plagiarised. Hey, it’s my heritage! 🙂

If you are interested, the prompt is linked below.

ABOUT THE CHALLENGE

Every Thursday, I will pick up a “prompt word” to be acted upon by y’all. You are free to go wild with your imagination and interpret the “prompt” in any way that you like – photo, prose, poetry, fiction, non-fiction, quotes, articles or drawing/painting – whatever works for you!
In short, it’s all about you being the BOSS and choosing the best way possible to express and depict your understanding of the prompt and go berserk!

TOPIC FOR TODAY : REVIVAL/REVIVE

RULES

1 Do not forget to tag/create a “ping-back!” If ping-backs are not your thing, feel free to simply leave a link to your piece in the comment section below so that everyone can enjoy your entry.
2 You are free to decipher the prompt as per your cognition. No rules, no boundaries!
3 Since we are aiming at catalyzing fun, you get a weeks time to participate. No rush!
4 Be sure to read the posts of other bloggers who respond to this prompt. You will be amazed at their brilliant creativity!

Prompt: “FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION” Challenge! REVIVAL!

6 thoughts on ““FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION” Challenge! REVIVAL!

    • Thank you! That’s a very encouraging comment. 🙂 Well, I did a rough translation of the Mandarin adage, which might not have done it justice. When you go on long journeys, you get tired and frustrated. When you stop, it seems like you’re stagnant and ready to give up. That’s what the adage is about. Resting is to travel further. But I used the word break because they are on smoking break. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.